The Act also contains provisions for special advance payments covering unharvested grain and the drying of grain. The maximum total advances receivable for these special advances are \$3,000 and \$600, respectively.

11.3 Provincial government services

11.3.1 Departments of agriculture

Newfoundland. Government agricultural services in Newfoundland are operated by the Department of Forestry and Agriculture. The Agriculture Division consists of six directors and a staff of 125 under an Assistant Deputy Minister of Agriculture. For administrative purposes, the province is divided into a number of districts with an agricultural representative located in each. Specialists in charge of different phases of agricultural development visit each district on assignment from the St. John's office.

Departmental policies in support of the agricultural industry include: a bonus of \$125 per acre on land cleared by privately owned equipment; distribution of ground limestone at a subsidized rate; payment of bonuses on purebred sires; financial assistance to agricultural societies, marketing organizations, and exhibition committees; and grants in aid of constructing vegetable storage facilities.

Favourable marketing conditions and departmental assistance and loans under the provincial Farm Development Loan Board, the Newfoundland Marketing Board and the Newfoundland Farm Products Corporation have contributed to increased output of agricultural products in the province.

Prince Edward Island. The Prince Edward Island Department of Agriculture and Forestry is composed of the following branches and divisions: the Economics, Planning and Marketing Branch; the Agricultural Services Branch, which consists of the Farm Management Division, the District Agricultural Extension Division, the 4-H Division and the Home Economics Division; the Production Services Branch, which consists of the Soils and Crops Division and the Veterinary and Livestock Division; and the Forestry Branch, which consists of the Forest Nursery Division and the Bunbury Nursery Division. The latter is described in more detail in Chapter 10.

Nova Scotia. The Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and Marketing directs the government's agricultural program by implementing provincial agricultural policies. The Department is administered by a Minister, Deputy Minister and branch directors concerned primarily with extension and economics, horticulture and biology, livestock services, market development, soils and crops, and formal agricultural education through the Nova Scotia Agricultural College located in Truro. The Department is particularly interested in encouraging rural people to help themselves through strengthening their interest in such organizations as the Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture, the Nova Scotia Fruit Growers' Association and other commodity-oriented groups.

New Brunswick. Provincial government agricultural policy and programs in New Brunswick are administered and directed by the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development. Under the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Department is administered by a Deputy Minister, an Assistant Deputy Minister and the directors of branches concerned with: extension, livestock and dairying, veterinary services, poultry, plant industry, agricultural engineering, home economics, credit unions and co-operatives, and rural development. The Department also has a Farm Economics Division and an Information Division, as well as a Farm Adjustment Board, a Dairy Products Commission and a Forest Products Commission.

Quebec. The aim of the Quebec Department of Agriculture and Colonization is to promote agricultural development by making the best possible use of the province's resources through methods and techniques most appropriate to achieving its real and projected needs. Programs and regulations are constantly updated to meet changing situations and the modernization of agriculture is of particular concern.

The Department is headed by the Minister who is also responsible for the Quebec Sugar Refinery, the Farm Credit Bureau, the Agricultural Marketing Authority and the Crop Insurance Administration, each of which is operated by an autonomous board of directors. Under the general direction of the Minister, the Deputy Minister is responsible for